

PROCLAMATION DECLARING SEPTEMBER AS CAPCOG PREPAREDNESS MONTH

- WHEREAS: The Capital Area Council of Governments (CAPCOG) is a political subdivision of the State, serving Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis, and Williamson Counties; and,
- WHEREAS: The State of Texas historically leads the nation in the number of federally-declared disasters; be they natural hazards, technological, or human-caused; and,
- WHEREAS: National Preparedness Month is an opportunity for CAPCOG to inform and educate residents, businesses, schools, and communities in the region to be more prepared by developing the capabilities needed to prevent, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate against all threats and hazards; and,
- WHEREAS: Preparedness is the responsibility of every resident of the ten-county CAPCOG region; and,
- **WHEREAS**: Preparedness is a national priority with the goal of shared individual and community safety and resilience; and,
- **WHEREAS**: Personal, business, animal, and private-sector preparedness may serve to mitigate the impacts of various emergencies, incidents, and disasters in the CAPCOG region; and
- **WHEREAS**: The CAPCOG Executive Committee encourages all residents to participate in preparedness activities and are asked to review preparedness information at Ready.gov, and to sign up to receive emergency alerts via WarnCentralTexas.org to become more knowledgeable and prepared;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE CALDWELL COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT THAT, it does hereby declare the month of September 2024, as CAPCOG Preparedness Month and encourages all residents, businesses, schools, and communities to develop emergency preparedness and resiliency plans and to register at WarnCentralTexas.org to receive emergency alerts.

PROCLAIMED this 27th day of August, 2024.

Hoppy Haden Caldwell County Judge

B.J. Westmoreland Commissioner, Precinct 1-

Ed Theriot Commissioner, Precinct 3

ATTEST: Teresa Rodriguez, Caldwell C

Proclamation

Rusty Horne Commissioner, Precinct 2 Dyral Thomas Commissioner, Precinct 4